Posted by: shoji | October 23, 2007

Auto horn and flashing light invention

Okay, here’s a free-bee to the auto industry and safety folk:

Combined automobile horn and high-beam flashing device.

I remember reading about complaints on hybrid vehicles (i.e., Toyota Prius) being particularly dangerous to blind people. Turns out that hybrid vehicles are much quieter than regular cars, and thus a silent danger to the visually impaired. There was (maybe still is) debate about putting noise-making devices on hybrid vehicles.

This is probably not P.C. of me (I’m a Mac!), but silence is golden. And I’ve found the urban rumble from buses (which I ride daily) and the subway/commuter train (which I used to ride daily) cause noticeable stress. But that’s a post for another time…

Back to the “Invent this free-bee”:
Auto manufacturers could easily link the horn mechanism with the high-beams to simultaneously honk and flash. Those with disabilities may benefit from the dual-mode alert system (DMAS, as every good technology requires a meaningless acronym).

This invention is free to use: no license fee necessary, just for societal good. Volvo, show your leadership here. BTW: I love the new C30.
Volvo C30

Responses

  1. Trouble is that the flashing lights mean different things in different countries.

    Flash lights on Europe means I’m here please pull over so I can pass.

    In the UK, it simply used to warn others of your presence, ie round a blind bend at night etc. The horn should not be used after 23:00 until 08:00 the next day.

    And the extra cost of trying to work out gets what system can be a tiny logistical piece of expense, so why bother.

  2. […] most popular post is easily “Auto horn and flashing light invention“. As long as you’re wasting time, please come and visit my blog– I will try to […]

  3. gostaria que me enviassem o preço do modelo c30 volvo e se aceitam por troca um bmw?

  4. gostaria que me enviassem o preço do modelo c30 volvo e se aceitam por troca um bmw série 3 de 2003?


Leave a Reply

Categories

